The Lonely Rock Star (part 4 & 5)

ONE OK ROCK at Countdown Japan 13/14
*credits go to the owner of this photo

Chapter 4

But Taka is still throwing his fist in the air. Then to her surprise he kiss her, it was just a smack in the lips but it made her heart beats faster. She stares at Taka, what’s with this man that is making her heartbeat faster?

“Takahiro, we can’t be together you know that.” She said formally. It’s more of a reminder to her.

“I know, but I want you to be my girl even for just a short period of time. Now I will sing for you.”

Taka stood up and held out a hand.

“Let’s dance.” He said.

“But there’s no music.”

“I told you I will sing for you. Come on.”

He folded her in his arms as she lean her head on his chest and closed her eyes. Taka starts to sing.

“I wanna dance like no one’s watching me,

I wanna love like it’s the only thing I know

I wanna laugh from the bottom of my heart

I wanna sing like every single notes and word it’s all for you

Is this enough?”

His voice is raspy as he sang near her ear; it’s more like a whisper.

“I wanna tell you and this is the only way I know

And hope one day you’ll learn the words and say

That you finally see what I see

Another song for you about your love

’cause you love the me that’s full of faults

I wish you could see it from this view

’cause everything around you is a little bit brighter from your love”

“I wanna dance the nights away with you

I wanna love because you taught me to

I wanna laugh all your tears away

I wanna sing ’cause every single note and word it’s just for you

Hope it’s enough?

I wanna tell you and this is the only way I know

And hope one day you’ll learn the words and say

That you finally see, how I feel”

Taka hugs her close to his body as if she was his lifeline. She met his gaze; he’s still singing as he lower down his head to her.

“…Not a day goes by that I don’t think

About you and the love you’ve given me

I wish you could see it from this view

’cause everything around you is a little bit brighter from your love

Life is just so much better from your love.” 

She is about to close her eyes and wait for his lips when Taka’s phone rings. Then suddenly the magic was gone. He picks up the phone from his pocket. She tried to struggle from his hold but he didn’t let her, he looks at her as he talks to the other line. She didn’t understand what he was saying because he is speaking in nihonggo.

“I have to go, I forgot we have a rehearsal today.” He said.

“Okay.”

“Gomen ne sai.”

“I don’t mind. Go.”

Taka is about to open the door when he turn to her.

“I forgot something.” He said and walks towards her again.

He tilts her chin up and kiss her. It’s a short but deep kiss. Taka smiled and walk out of her house.

Taka and the rest of the band are packing their things; they will go back to Japan. It’s been three days since he last saw Yui, his baby. She doesn’t want to go out with him again and he didn’t force himself to her but he followed her secretly not only to see her beautiful face but to make sure she is safe.

“I’m so excited to go home.” Toru said and hop in the bus heading to the airport.

The others step inside the bus except for Taka.

“Oi, Taka we’re goin’ to be late. Come on dude.”

“I…I need to see her, you guys go to the airport without me.” He said.

“What?! Hey!” Toru shouted.

“No way!” Ryota said.

But Taka run towards the taxi bay and get inside the cab. He immediately went out of the car and knock on Yui’s door. Yui open the door and he immediately hugs her as they walk inside the house.

“Taka? What are you doing here?”

“I just want to see you before I leave.”

“You’re leaving?”

“Yes.”

“I see.”

“If you are sad and alone listen to the songs here, and you will remember our good times together, and I hope it will make you smile again.” He said and handed her i-pad and headed to the door. When Taka left her tears starts to fall.

“Goodbye, Taka. Thanks for the memories.” She said and put her headset on and listens to Taka’s song.

“I’m telling you

I softly whisper

Tonight tonight

You are my angel…

aishite’ru yo

futari wa hitotsu ni

Tonight tonight

I just say…

Wherever you are, I always make you smile

Wherever you are, I’m always by your side

Whatever you say, kimi o omou kimochi

I promise you “forever” right now

It’s been one month since Taka left the States but he never failed to send her fresh roses twice a week. Yui smile when she saw the flowers at her front door. She picks up the flowers and close the door. There was a card, she smile as she reads it.

Congrats! Happy Graduation! Good luck on your speech, ganbatte. 

It was her graduation today, and she will give a speech as a magna cum laude. She didn’t know how Taka manages to know about her speech but she was happy that he still cared.

After she gave her speech the students were called to get their diplomas, after the graduation ceremony. Her dad said they have to leave immediately; she didn’t able to come to the graduation ball.

“I thought we will leave next week, why the sudden change of schedule Dad?”

“We have to leave immediately, there’s a problem in the company, and you know how demanding my work is.”

“Yeah, you’re always working. You don’t have time for me.”

“This is for your own good.”

But Yui just put her earphones and listen to Taka’s songs. They’ve been arguing about this since she was in grade school, his father doesn’t have time for her since her mother died, her father blamed her for her mother’s death. Her mother has a rheumatic heart disease and she cannot bear a child because of her weak heart. But her mother wanted to give her husband a child. Unfortunately she died after giving birth to her.

Yui frowned when she walk out of the plane.

“Dad, what are we doing here in Japan?”

“You’ll meet your fiancé.”

“What? No. I told you won’t marry a stranger.” She said turn to face her father.

“I don’t have time for your tantrums, you will meet him whether you like it or not.”

“Tantrums? It’s my future were talking about here.”

“You will have a good future with him.”

“No.” she said and cross her arms over her chest.

“Don’t argue with me.”

Great! This is so f*cking great.

Inside the restaurant, while they were waiting for her fiancé to arrive Yui is singing to mock his father while her father is glaring to her.

“I can’t make my own decisions
Or make any with precision
Well, maybe you should tie me up
So I don’t go where you don’t want me

“Don’t embarrass me, when he’s here.” He said tightly. But she just mocks him and continue singing.


….Oh, oh, oh, oh
You don’t have to believe me
But the way I, way I see it
Next time you point a finger
I might have to bend it back
Or break it, break it off

If God’s the game that you’re playing
Well, we must get more acquainted
Because it has to be so lonely
To be the only one who’s holy

It’s just my humble opinion
But it’s one that I believe in
You don’t deserve a point of view
If the only thing you see is you….

Chapter 5

 Well if she can’t make her father change his mind, maybe she can make her “fiancé” change his decision about the wedding.

After several minutes his father receives a call.

“It’s your fiancé’s father, he said your fiancé has some commitments and he can’t make it here today.”

“Yey! `Cause I don’t have plans to meet him.” She claps her hands.

“Yui.”

“What?” she snap.

But her father just glared at her.

Taka is glaring at his father, his father wanted to meet his unknown fiancée.

“I won’t meet her.” He said gravely.

“You will meet her, and that’s final.”

“Meet her yourself! I have a scheduled recording today.” He said and shut the door behind him.

He zip up his leather jacket and went to the garage and drive his SSC Ultimate Aero. The cameras are flashing as he speeds up. There are paparazzi outside his house, the downside of being famous, he made a face. Good thing he brought his supercar.

He was in the studio’s parking lot when Toru in his Lamborghini Aventador shows up. They started recording after they prepared the instruments.

Yui is waiting for a taxi cab; it was almost midnight when the cosplay convention end. She went cautious when two men walk towards her; the place where she is standing was kinda dark.

“Hey, there sexy. Do you want to come with us, Miss?” the fat one said.

“No, leave me alone.” She snaps.

“Come with us, it will be fun.” The other guy said and grabs her arm. She struggle to free from his grip, she kick him in the balls and tried to run but the other guy caught her.

“No, leave me alone.” She starts screaming.

“Help, somebody! Help me.” She desperately shouts in the deserted parking lot.

Taka is walking out of their studio, his band mates went off somewhere after their recording while he stayed to submit some lyrics to their producer. He was alarm when he heard someone screaming. He runs out of the establishment, she saw a woman desperately trying to free herself from the two men.

“Help, somebody help me!”

He immediately attacks those men, and because he is smaller it’s easier for him to avoid their assaults. Several moments later the two men was declared knockout and some guards from their building went out and the lights in the whole parking lot went on.

“T-Takahiro.” She said and to his delight she hugs him.

Taka was surprise to see Yui; she is crying and her whole body is shaking. It’s a good thing he stayed in the studio little longer; he can’t imagine what will happen to her if he left early.

“You’re safe now, Baby. Everything is fine now. Hush now.” He hugs her tightly,

He frees himself from her embrace and punch those guys again. He is mad, so mad. They almost hurt his girl and that’s unforgivable.

“Taka, stop it, stop it please. You’re killing them.” She tried to stop him.

“That’s what I intend to do.” He said and utters a curse.

Yui hugs him from behind and the guards of the building together with some police came.

“Sir, what happened?” the police asked.

“These guys are harassing my girl. Take them to the precinct.” He said and hugs Yui again.

“Sir, we need you to come with us in the station to get your statement.” The police said.

“Can we blotter it tomorrow? My girl is still in shock, I need to take care of her.”

“Certainly, Sir.”

When the police mobiles were gone, Taka carry her to his car. She is sitting in his lap.

“Are you hurt?” he asked and inspect if she has wounds.

“I’m okay, Taka.”

“Are you sure?”

“Yes.” But her fear didn’t lessen. She’s still crying.

“Stop crying baby. Everything is fine now.”

Yui wipe her nose and tears with her hands.

“I’m sorry I don’t have a hanky with me, use my shirt instead.” He offers his shirt but Yui refuse.

“When did you came here?” he asked

“Only yesterday, I’ve been in a reunion with some of my friends.”

“I miss you so much.” Taka said and hugs her tight. He nuzzles her hair.

She missed him too. She always wonders how he’d been doing.

“Come on, I’ll take you home.”

“No home, I was checked in a hotel.”

“I see, Are staying here for good or you’re just having a vacation?”

“I think I will stay here for good, my dad is pushing me to marry the guy he chose to be my husband.”

Taka didn’t say anything, he focus on the road. Few minutes later he parks the car in front of a hotel.

“Are you sure you’re fine here?”

“Yes, don’t go out of the car, I’ll take it from here. Thank you for saving me, Taka.” She said and bows a little.

He starts his car when Yui step inside the lobby. Yui wave her hand goodbye, Taka smiled.

Yui scratch her messy hair as she headed to the door.

“Ohayou, Baby!” Taka greets her.

“Good morning.” She let him in.

“Did I disturb you?” he asked and offers her flowers.

“Nope, but can you wait here? I’ll just change.” She said.

“Sure, take your time baby.”

Several minutes later, she was all-dress. She walk out of the bedroom and found Taka sitting in a sofa, sleeping. She smiled;she really loves to touch his face and his soft, messy hair.

Taka grabs her hand in his face, kisses her knuckles and slowly opens his eyes.

“Hey, there gorgeous!”

“You’re tired Taka you should be resting.”

“I really like it when you cared for me. Let’s go out, I want to spend the day with you.”

They are scrolling in the park when a group of girls run towards Taka screaming.

“Taka! Taka, OMG, he’s here!” their screams caught attention; the people starts whispering while staring at them, at Taka. The girls are all over him, she forgot that Taka is a very popular in Japan.

“Let’s get out of here.” He said and grabs her hand and run.

They’re running out of breath when they finally stop running.

“I almost forgot, I’m quite popular here, unlike in the States and Europe I can go wherever I want without cover up.” Taka said, still catching his breath as his hands grip on his knees.

“Yeah, hah! I’m thirsty.” She said still catching her breath.

They immediately hide in the bushes when they saw a group of men.

“Where did they go? We have to get the young master.” The leader said.

“The people said they run toward this direction, they’re just here somewhere.”

Taka’s chinky eyes narrow, his fist clench. He’s mad.

“I need to talk to my dad, I didn’t know I was being followed by the security, those are my bodyguards by the way.”

“I see. Why are they after you?”

“I dunno. Come, I don’t want to risk of being known again, I’ll take you home.”

“Okay.” Their eyes are roaming around to see if someone is following them, and suspiciously went inside the car.

Taka is driving when his phone rings.

“Mushi, mushi.” It’s his father.

“Come to our house now and bring your girl with you.” He said and hangs up the phone.

Taka stared at his phone like it is some alien creature.

“What’s wrong, Takahiro?”

“Nothing, baby. Come to my house someone wants to meet you.”

“What? Who?” she bemused.

“You’ll see.” He said and turns his car to the opposite lane.

They entered in a grand mansion.

“Where’s my father?” Taka asked one of the maids.

“They are in the library, Sir.”

“I see.” Taka took her hand and knock on the door before they entered.

Yui was surprise to see his father inside the library.

“Dad? What are you doing here?” she asked. But her father smiled.

“So you knew each other already. I think we need to set the date now.” Taka’s father said.

“W-what date? What is happening here?” she’s nervous she hoped that she is wrong with her gut feeling.

“You don’t know, my dear girl? Takahiro is your fiancé.” Taka’s father said.

Taka was stunned but he kept his cool and stares impassively to the two people who set them up, while Yui is in a verge of panic. He glances to Yui that is quietly eating a chocolate cake while their fathers are talking about the wedding. He squeeze her hand but Yui free her hand on his grip. Now he knew she is mad not only to him but to everyone in the room.

He caught the attention of their fathers.

“Dad, can we plan the wedding some other time?” he asked.

“Why?”

“I want to court Yui formally and we want to know each other more before jumping into marriage.” He said, Yui is gaping at him, he turn to her and smile.

“Alright, if that’s what you want.” Yui’s father agreed.

“And if you’ll excuse us, we have to go; we were in a date when you called us.” He said and their fathers look pleased.

Credits: Agatha Sambajon

Check out POOR fb page for more updates!

One thought on “The Lonely Rock Star (part 4 & 5)

Leave a Reply

